Guest Blogger – Pastor Steven Furtick

28 01 2010

I’m just going to put it out there. As a Christian, I’m struggling. I currently struggle to read my bible, to care at all, to want to know or talk to God, and to want to meet with other Christians. I’m just struggling to see the point. Thankfully, I don’t want it to be this way, and I am (and would ask you to as well) praying that God would change my mind and heart and provide me with that motivation once again. The other day, however, this post really encouraged me. Yet another step along the road. For your convenience, I have copy-pasted it here (without permission, sorry!):

I read today’s passage in the New Living Translation and saw something pretty cool:

John announced: “Someone is coming soon who is greater than I am—
so much greater that I’m not even worthy to stoop down like a slave and untie the straps of his sandals.”

-Mark 1:7

Jesus said that John was great in Matthew 11:11. Specifically, that he was the greatest man ever born of a woman.

But John knew that Jesus was so much greater.
And that’s what made John great.

Reminder:
Jesus is so much greater than any trial you’re facing today.
He’s so much greater than the pleasure of any sin you’re considering.
He’s so much greater than any other ambition you could pursue.

To truly be great, never forget that He is so much greater.

Eric.

Actions

Information

2 responses

28 01 2010
Douglas

Have you tried keeping a journal? I find it makes it much easier to keep track of how you’re going, and to keep yourself accountable. If you end up going weeks without reading your Bible or anything, you can’t just hide that away.

All you have to do is write down what you’ve read, what it says to you, and other things God’s saying to you.

29 01 2010
Eric

Thanks for the suggestion Doug!

I do in fact keep a journal. Not just of my bible reading, but of all sorts of other things, too. It’s great. However it too is something i’ve been struggling to do too. Thanks very much for the reminder, though!

I’ve had some great friends who’ve been willing to chat and/or offer advice, which is great, too!

The greatest comfort, however, is knowing that this world isn’t about me, and it’s not about you, but it’s about Jesus.

Leave a Reply

